Receive the Roundup
Failed to load licensing components. Please Repair / Re-Install Live Forms . DO NOT UNINSTALL MODULE!

NCGA re-elects leaders to kick off 2019 long session

State lawmakers met briefly Wednesday to kick off the 2019-20 legislative biennium by electing leaders. Legislators selected Rep. Tim Moore to return as Speaker of the N.C. House, and Sen. Phil Berger will again be President Pro Tem of the N.C. Senate. The real work of the long session will begin when legislators reconvene Wednesday, Jan. 30. Committee assignments will be made between now and then.

After November’s election, Republicans still hold majorities in the N.C. House and Senate, although Democrats made gains across the state and broke the Republican veto-proof supermajority in both chambers. In the 2019-20 legislature, Republicans hold 65 House seats and Democrats hold 55; in the Senate, Republicans hold 29 seats and Democrats hold 21 seats.

And, a number of new people have been elected to the N.C. General Assembly. The Senate includes 13 new members (7 Democrats, 6 Republicans) and the House has 26 new members (7 Democrats, 9 Republicans.) Rep. Lisa Stone Barnes, representing Nash and Franklin counties, is from a family farm and will be serving her first term in the House. She is also a graduate of N.C. Farm Bureau’s Campaign Management School. To learn more about your elected officials, new and returning, visit the N.C. General Assembly website, Capitol Roundup regular coverage will return beginning Feb. 1.

Finally, please SAVE THE DATE: Wednesday, March 20 is N.C. Agriculture Awareness Day at the General Assembly! More details will be coming soon.